Revenue spread evenly across months RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone

I'm pretty new with MDX and tried to search the web for a solution for my problem, but couldn't sadly find one. I have a Calendar Hierarchy, in my columns, with 3 levels which are year, month and date. In my Rows i have several dimensions in the form of customer, product, account etc. My measure is revenue. 

The problem i'm facing is that when i choose the [Calendar].[year] im getting a result for 2017 of say 120 Dollars, which by itself is correct, but when i then try to make an evenly monthly allocation across 12 months, by choosing [Calender.Month] it automatically take the actual revenue say Jan=12, Feb=9, Mar=13. I want it to evenly distribute the 120 across the 12 months so that jan=10, Feb=10, Mar=10 etc. 

Hope someome can help with this 

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 8:23 AM

Answers

• Hi Aagaard806,

Thanks for your question.

I would not suggest you to do so. But if you do want this, I would suggest you to create a another copy measure which is identical to Measure revenue as below in calculation script TAB of your cube design window:

CREATE MEMBER CURRENTCUBE.[Measures].[Copy Revenue] AS
    [Measures].[Revenue];

Then you can overwrite the cells with the value you want by using SCOPE statement as below:

SCOPE([Measures].[Copy Revenue] );
    SCOPE([Date].[Calendar].[Month]);
    THIS = ([Date].[Calendar].CurrentMember.Parent,
            [Measures].[Revenue])/12 ;
    END SCOPE;
    END SCOPE;

Best Regards
    Willson Yuan
    MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 9:07 AM
  • Hi Aagaard806,

Thanks for your response.