none
VB.NET 2015 - How to count files having today's date

Question

• Hi all,

I'm a novice with VB.NET, but as a former Access MVP, I'm very familiar with classic VB and VBA. I have a need I hope you can help with.

Using VB.NET 2015, I need to be able to count the number of files in a specific folder, but only those of a specific filetype and only those that are added today. I need to do this for 3 separate folders where the filetypes vary from folder-to-folder. This needs to be extremely fast because the number of files in each folder is quite large (tens of thousands and growing fast each day). Thus cycling through every file to ascertain it's filetype and create date is prohibitively slow. I tried that first.

In other parts of the little utility I'm writing, I use FileSystemWatchers, which work well in those scenarios, but that approach doesn't help in this case because, as far as I know, you can't filter the FSW by create date.

I need to get an accurate count (in as close to realtime as possible) as the utility starts up, as well as when files are added or deleted.

I hope you can help.

Regards and many thanks,

Regards, Graham R Seach Sydney, Australia

• Edited by Graham R Seach Tuesday, April 18, 2017 3:15 AM Added sig line
    Tuesday, April 18, 2017 3:14 AM

Answers

• Graham,

You might want to use something like this as the basis: