none
Document Library: Best Practice RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new to SharePoint and I was wondering if there are any best practices to think about when designed the use of document libraries.  I have been told that with our current server settings, each document library will be able to contain 2,000 docs.

Based on this I will have to create a doc lib once the old one gets full.  If I keep creating new, users will not know with doc lib has the document they want.

Can you see where I am going with this?  Any advice would be appreciated !

Hopefully, some SharePoint experts out there can help me !!

Thakn Alot 
    SharePoint Novice
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 12:36 PM

Answers

• There is already a thread on this. Check this thread.

http://forums.msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/sharepointgeneral/thread/2a25cfc2-a833-462d-a1c2-377261a04a04

The 2000 document limit is per folder.

Documents  per Folder : 2,000 

The interfaces for enumerating documents in a folder do not perform well beyond a thousand entries.

Documents per Library :  2 million 

You can create very large document libraries by nesting folders.

Reference : http://markharrison.co.uk/blog/2004/09/sharepoint-scaling-limits.htm

Amit
    • Edited by Amit V Wednesday, July 23, 2008 12:48 PM spelling mistake
    • Marked as answer by Xing-Bing Yu - MSFT Thursday, July 24, 2008 8:12 AM
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 12:47 PM
  • Do you need to use folders?  You may be better foregoing the folder route and storing absolutely everything in the 1 library using conent types.
    You can then make use of views and filters to display the contents of the library in an acceptable manner.
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 1:44 PM
  • Well its ok to create folder for single level and try avoiding 2-3 level deep folder structure. This is just what I think.

The reason I dont do nested folder is