none
SharePoint folders with unique permissions accessible via URL RRS feed

• Question

• Hello! I'm pretty new to SharePoint 2010. I've been working on creating folders with unique permissions within a document library. I've created a workflow that automatically grants folder permissions to a certain group upon creation or modification. The document library and the folders within the library all have broken inheritance.

The workflow I created seems to work as it should - when a user looks in the document library, they only see their group's folder. However, if the user tries accessing another group's folder via direct URL, they're able to see the folder webpage (though they can't access anything inside the folder). I'm not sure why this is happening since the folders are given unique permissions - shouldn't this prevent the user from seeing the other group's folder?

I've noticed that it seems that the user having access to the document library (even if it's just Limited Access so they can reach their group's folder) seems to allow them to access ANY of the folders in the library using the folder URLs, even if the only folder that is visible to them is the folder for the group that they are in.

For example, if I remove the user's group from the library's permissions, then they can't access any of the folders within the library (not even through a URL), nor the library itself. However, if I give the user permissions to access the library, then they seem to be able to access ANY of the folders in the library via direct URLs (even if the unique permissions for the folder don't include the user or the user's group) - definitely not something I want them to be able to do.

Any advice on how to fix this? I've been searching for a solution for days but haven't found anything yet.

• Edited by sabina.yim Wednesday, June 29, 2016 1:50 PM Fixed example problem
    Wednesday, June 29, 2016 1:41 PM

Answers