How to redirect audio stream to/from the serial port? RRS feed

• Question

• I’m writing a program that will allow me to send SMS and call using a GSM modem.

I‘m communicate with the modem using AT commands.

I have a problem with “connect” sound from the modem to the speakers.

After installing the modem is visible in the system as two ports.

On one of them sends and receives commands.

The second is just for voice communication.

I can’t redirect PC audio input/output to the modem serial port. (So I can't hear callers and vice versa)

From what I've managed to find I have to use SAPI. (ISpVoice::SetOutput)

I have no experience in this type of applications and I don’t know where to start.

I write a program in Visual Basic 2008

Sorry for my poor English

Wednesday, January 19, 2011 9:08 PM

Answers

• I have had my doubts about this, however...it appears that reality is somewhere between my assertion that modems never do this, and your findings.

So, I looked into AT commands for GSM modems...that is where I got those commands. I do not have a GSM modem that is not attached to a service provider, so....I am not sure that I can create a test platform.

AAR, that is, in fact audio, but.....I am not confident that using the My.Computer.Audio device will be sufficient for this. (I have been wrong many, many times, however!) I think that you will have to buffer the audio and present it to the audio subsystem in a more "front door" manner. I would be delighted if I was wrong about that -- if we can get it working close to that snippet you showed me -- that would be super for all of us, I think.