none
How to build SharePoint 2013 DR farm with SQL AlwaysOn Availability Group. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I hope to reach out for anyone have done this or have knowledgeable  with SharePoint 2013 DR using SQL Availability group,  Please advise or comment.   I really appreciate all.  Please pardon me if my questions below are not making sense as this is my first time doing this task. 

I need to build a complete DR for a SharePoint 2013 environment.  For the past few months,  I have build out the DR farm but I have struggle to understand on how to create / setup and configure SQL AlwaysOn  Availability Groups  at the detail level. 

I search through many technical documents and most suggest about the same architecture for SharePoint DR with SQL AOAG but I just can't find the detail information enough on how to create the AG Groups and how configure the AG groups according to the document.  I would think the authors must have thought that this information is simple enough to do without much explanation.   Well in fact, I went over this with the DBA and they raise many questions that I could not answer or explain. 

Our current Primary SharePoint Farm:

One AOAG group Prod-Group1

Database:  All databases:   config,  Service apps,  content databases

Member:  SQL-N1 and SQL-N2  (Synchronous)

SQL-N1 Primary   SQL-N2  secondary

Listener:   Prod-Listener

SQL Alias:  created SQL_Services for the Prod-listener

Configure SharePoint to connect to SQL_Services.

Working great so far…

I plan to do the following:

This is one of the closest model that I hope to achieve from this design  diagram

SharePointDR1

Primary SharePoint Farm:

Keep the existing AOAG Group Prod-Group1

Same member nodes:  SQL-N1 and SQL-N2 (Synchronous commit)

Keep same listener for Prod-Group1:    Prod-listener

Keep same SQL Alias:  created SQL_Services for the Prod-listener

Change:

For Prod-Group1