none
Unable to Edit Page - Access Denied RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I have a HNSC Web Application with a number of site collections sitting underneath.  Something has changed, and I'm not sure what, but now when I try to edit a page, I get an "Access Denied" error.  I am a Site Collection Administrator of all the sites and have in the past been able to edit pages fine.

I have assigned the [portalsuperuseraccount] and [portalsuperreaderaccount] the correct permissions.  I cannot see any pages that are checked out - I cannot edit any page but I can browse the pages with no problems.

I have recently set up a daily backup using task scheduler and saw a post suggesting the DB could be locked but I cannot see any sign of it being locked in either SQL or in CA.

I have another Web Application also and have no problems editing the pages in the site collections attached to it.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Monday, March 10, 2014 5:57 AM

All replies

• hi Kelsnz ,

Please check whether the site collection is in readonly mode or not

Get-SPSite -Identity <URL> -lockstate

Regards, Pradeep

Monday, March 10, 2014 8:38 AM
  • I'm not sure why - but that didn't seem to work for me.  I had to use:-

stsadm -o getsitelock -url <Site-collection-url>

The result was "None".  I also checked in CA and my sites are not locked

Monday, March 10, 2014 10:34 PM
  • Just to add to this also - I have three site collections under this web application - the issue is affecting all of these site collections.

Also, I am able to edit pages using SharePoint Designer - just not in the browser....that is where I get the Access Denied

• Edited by kelsnz Tuesday, March 11, 2014 12:14 AM More Detail
    Monday, March 10, 2014 11:38 PM
  • *BUMP*  Anybody?

I have run psconfig.exe and that was successful.  Each site collection in this web app has its own content database.  I have checked the permissions in IIS for the WSS folder all appears okay.