none
Display a List from Another Site Collection RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to create a display from one site collection on another site collection. I have had success with displaying lists between Sub-Sites using SPD 2007. My issue is that when I Connect to the library on the other site collection I get the following:

Database Connections
    XML Files
    Server-Side Scripts
    XML Web Services
    Linked Sources

It doesn't display Sharepoint Libraries.

I am by no means a SharePoint expert and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Amanda
    Wednesday, March 11, 2009 3:17 PM

Answers

• You've found the headache that a lot of administrators deal with when trying to share data between site collections. The short answer is you can not do this out of the box.  You are able to do it in sub sites because all the data in theory lives under that one site collection. If you want to pull data from a list on another site collection you will need to consider a custom solution.

You could consider some sort of roll up or exporting feature from one list in site collection A to the list in site collection B, or a workflow to push that data across, but performance will be an issue and something to consider.

Eric Harlan | www.ericharlan.com |twitter.com/ericharlan
    • Proposed as answer by EricHarlan Wednesday, March 11, 2009 3:31 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by afex Wednesday, March 11, 2009 4:09 PM
    • Marked as answer by Paul Galvin Thursday, March 12, 2009 1:10 AM
    Wednesday, March 11, 2009 3:31 PM

All replies

• You've found the headache that a lot of administrators deal with when trying to share data between site collections. The short answer is you can not do this out of the box.  You are able to do it in sub sites because all the data in theory lives under that one site collection. If you want to pull data from a list on another site collection you will need to consider a custom solution.