none
OST to PST Software Coding RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Everyone,

I am currently looking at writing some software that would allow users to be able to create a PST from an OST, I am new to coding and would look to distribute this application for free with no limitations.

I know the task can be done but the software always has limits, however as admins we always need it in the event of a failure hence the above track. If anyone can point me in the right direction for information as what I have found online is fairly useless.

Thank you in advance

MCP, MCTS, MCITP, MCITPVA, MCSA 2012, MCSE Private Cloud, MCSE Server Infrastructure

Tuesday, January 19, 2016 12:57 PM

All replies

• I'm wondering why you would want to write something that is already built into Outlook.  With Outlook, if you export your mailbox to a PST, you have effectively just moved your OST contents to a PST.

Will Martin ...
    -join ('77696c6c406d617274696e2d66616d696c6965732e6f7267' -split '(?<=\G.{2})' | ? { $_ } | % { [char][int]"0x$_" })

Tuesday, January 19, 2016 1:12 PM
  • Apologies for not being clear the requirement comes form a possible loss of Exchange Server that is also a DC for example an SBS environment and the only option is to rebuild hence new user profile and left with a OST file in an old profile that cannot be accessed.

I have only encountered the requirement for the application a couple of times generally when we take on a client that has had poor or no IT support so procedures are not in place. There are applications that work however making one freely available to admins is the main aim here.

MCP, MCTS, MCITP, MCITPVA, MCSA 2012, MCSE Private Cloud, MCSE Server Infrastructure

Tuesday, January 19, 2016 1:40 PM