none
Verifying info from a Person in a SharePoint List... RRS feed

• Question

• I'm fairly new to SharePoint development and I've run into an issue. I'd like my application to look at my SPUser object and verify that it is the same user as a Person object in a SharePoint List.

Code Snippet

SPListItem oItem = assocList.GetItemById(1);

What property in oItem can I compare to my SPUser object? Feel free to berate me if this is a bad way to go about this.
    Thursday, February 21, 2008 3:42 PM

Answers

• Nevermind, figured it out. Feel free to examine this code and tell me where I'm going wrong but it seems to do the trick.

Code Snippet
    SPUser test = GetSPUser(oItem, assocList.Fields.GetField("AssociateName"));

if (user.Sid.Equals(test.Sid))
    {
    }

private SPUser GetSPUser(SPListItem item, SPField field)
    {
    string currentValue = item[field.Title].ToString();
    SPFieldUser userField = (SPFieldUser)field;
    SPFieldUserValue fieldValue = (SPFieldUserValue)userField.GetFieldValue(currentValue);

return fieldValue.user;
    }

Thursday, February 21, 2008 6:17 PM

All replies

• Good question.

I believe you are correct that you can not directly compare them.  The one in the person field is data type SPFieldUser:
    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/microsoft.sharepoint.spfielduser.aspx

There is always a little trickery when using it -- For example, here is how you might create an SPUser out of an SPFieldUser  (working with AssignedTo field of a list task)

SPFieldUser assignedTo = (SPFieldUser)task.Fields[SPBuiltInFieldId.AssignedTo];

SPFieldUserValue user = (SPFieldUserValue) assignedTo.GetFieldValue(task[SPBuiltInFieldId.AssignedTo].ToString());

SPUser userObject = user.User;
    Thursday, February 21, 2008 4:07 PM
  • Maybe I'm not accessing the fields in the List properly because I can't get to the SPFieldUser object. Using your code example I tried something like this...

Code Snippet