none
Wiki and Blogs in a Sharepoint Site RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All

I am new to Sharepoint.I want to create a Sharepoint site and include the blogs and wiki in it. Is it possible to create a blank site and then add blogs and wiki in it? If so, how?

Thanks in advance

Regards

Kushal

Tuesday, July 19, 2011 11:05 AM

Answers

• Howdy,

While it is possible to re-create the Blog functionality in an empty site, it's going to be much easier just to create a Blog site itself. There are lists set up by default to give a site "Blog" functionality.

As far as a Wiki goes, this is a type of Site Collection, and it's probably a better approach to deal with a Wiki as one entity, and have other non-Wiki sites in its own entity (i.e. another site collection).

Does this make sense?

Regards,

George 

George Begbie | Software Consultant | MCTS SharePoint 2010 Application Development
    • Marked as answer by Kushal Khera Wednesday, July 20, 2011 7:37 AM
    Tuesday, July 19, 2011 11:19 AM
  • Hi Kushal,

Enterprise Wiki will only appear when you create a new Site Collection (e.g. through Central Administration). So you cannot create this under a top-level site (or indeed any other site), the Enterprise Wiki is itself a top-level site.

If you want to create a Forum you can try creating a Discussion Board list within one of your sites.

Hope this helps,

Regards,

George Begbie | Software Consultant | MCTS SharePoint 2010 Application Development
    Tuesday, July 19, 2011 2:50 PM

All replies

• Howdy,

While it is possible to re-create the Blog functionality in an empty site, it's going to be much easier just to create a Blog site itself. There are lists set up by default to give a site "Blog" functionality.

As far as a Wiki goes, this is a type of Site Collection, and it's probably a better approach to deal with a Wiki as one entity, and have other non-Wiki sites in its own entity (i.e. another site collection).

Does this make sense?

Regards,

George