none
SharePoint custom JavaScript and jQuery blocked by MDS Minimal Download Strategy

Question

• Hi folks 

Here's my setup. Onprem SharePoint 2016. I have a master page which is basically a copy of seattle.master and I want to add jQuery and a custom Javascript to manipulate the DOM. The minimal download strategy blocks my code. I read numerous posts but I just cannot figure it out of the life of me. I know I can turn off the MDS feature but I don't want to resort to that.

What I want is to simply change the word "Sites" from the suite links bar to "My Sites". Very simple DOM operation. 

$('a#Sites_BrandBar span').text('My Sites'); So this is the code that should do it. It works when MDS feature is turned off.

Here's what I've done

In the <head> section I have the following

<SharePoint:ScriptLink language="javascript" name="/~layouts/MyFeature.SP2016.Branding/scripts/jquery-3.1.1.min.js" LoadAfterUI="true" runat="server" Localizable="false" OnDemand="false" />

<SharePoint:ScriptLink language="javascript" name="/~layouts/MyFeature.SP2016.Branding/scripts/myscript.js" LoadAfterUI="true" runat="server" Localizable="false" OnDemand="false"  />

As per some of the articles I read including this one  you have to wrap the entire javascript.

So my myscript.js looks like this

function $_global_changeText() {
        $('a#Sites_BrandBar span').text('My Sites');
    }
    $_global_changeText();

and the jQuery library has a wrapper around it as well.

function $_global_jquery() {

<original jQuery library here...>

}
    $_global_jquery();

That's all.

when I look at the scripts that are loaded via the developer toolbar I don't even see my scripts in there.

When am I doing wrong? Help please and thank you!

Friday, December 02, 2016 11:02 PM

All replies