Sample code won't work RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm new to developing MSN Activities. I have downloaded the MSN Messenger Activity API with the Tic Tac Toe sample this morning. I have carefully read the help-file included in the archive.

When I try to get the included Tic Tac Toe sample to work, nothing happens. The Activity is not listed in the menu's.

I have put the files in a folder on my webserver and I have put the correct link in the msgrp2p.xml file (when I enter that link in my browser, I get the correct page). My colleague and I have both put the msgrp2p.xml file in C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger, where the Messenger (version 8) executable also is. When we restart our Messenger and we start a conversation with each other, the Tic Tac Toe example is not listed.

The only thing I have changed in the sample xml file, is the URL and I'm 100% sure that it is correct.

What could be the problem here?

Edit: I have also tried the XML-file with MSN Messenger 7.5 but that doens't work either...

Thursday, August 24, 2006 12:04 PM

Answers

• I have created a new msgrp2p.xml file with an editor, which I'm sure of that it saves in UTF-8 format, but that doesn't help. I have even replaced the top line '<?xml version=1.0"?>' with '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>' but that doesn't help either.

I have also tried to transform it to a singleuser activity by changing the MinUsers en MaxUsers to 1, this way I don't have to keep bothering my colleagues. Now, to access singleuser activities, do I still have to click on the activities button in a conversation window or can I start them in some other way?

Friday, August 25, 2006 6:40 AM

All replies

• I don't know what the problem is, but I think it is an encoding problem somewhere... I saw other people having troubles with it, and the xml worked perfectly here. Try to save the file as plain UTF-8, because I think that is the right format...
    Thursday, August 24, 2006 6:58 PM