none
How to get the address of original CreateProcessInternalW which is required for the hooking? RRS feed

• Question

• I am a college student and I am very new to this API-hooking. Forgive me if I write something stupid.

I need to hook the function "CreateProcessInternalW". For that I need the address of original function to call it from the hooked function. I want to do something like this:

BOOL WINAPI CreateProcessInternalW_Hook(HANDLE hToken,
        LPCWSTR lpApplicationName,
        LPWSTR lpCommandLine,
        LPSECURITY_ATTRIBUTES lpProcessAttributes,
        LPSECURITY_ATTRIBUTES lpThreadAttributes,
        BOOL bInheritHandles,
        DWORD dwCreationFlags,
        LPVOID lpEnvironment,
        LPCWSTR lpCurrentDirectory,
        LPSTARTUPINFOW lpStartupInfo,
        LPPROCESS_INFORMATION lpProcessInformation,
        PHANDLE hNewToken)
    {

//get address of original api in pCreateProcessInternalW.

// calling original function
        BOOL RetVal = pCreateProcessInternalW ( hToken,
            lpApplicationName,
            lpCommandLine,
            lpProcessAttributes,
            lpThreadAttributes,
            bInheritHandles,
            dwCreationFlags,
            lpEnvironment,
            lpCurrentDirectory,
            lpStartupInfo,
            lpProcessInformation,
            hNewToken);

// rest of the computing.

}

Now how to find that original address? I tried googling it and found few implementations but the code for finding original address is kind of lost in their various source/header files. I don't need to inject the DLL manually and I am using ms-detours library to implement the API-Hooking. The other implementations are doing something else and if I include those codes I am afraid my code might not work.