none
3-tier C# EF project. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All.

I'm new in 3-tier architecture in C#. For instance, I created class that has some methods return values which I planning to use to populate some controls in UI Layer such as ComboBox, DataGrid. So, that class should be located in Data Layer or Business Layer? Can someone explain more detail about 3-tier architecture? I will appreciate for sample of project where using such architecture.

Thanks

Friday, May 29, 2020 10:56 PM

All replies

• Hello,

You want to look at MVVM (Model-View-ViewModel) pattern. Both Entity Framework 6, Entity Framework Core will work.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmarked them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.

NuGet BaseConnectionLibrary for database connections.

StackOverFlow
    profile for Karen Payne on Stack Exchange

Saturday, May 30, 2020 1:32 AM
  • You're not using tiers. Tiers involve having presentation, business logic and data access logic on 3 different physical computers called tiers or physical boundaries.

What you are talking about using is called layered architecture where all layers are on the same physical computer.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/previous-versions/msp-n-p/ee658117(v=pandp.10)

In the Data Access Layer, you'll want to implement a pattern such as the DAO pattern. I prefer the DAO pattern over the UoW and Repository patterns since EF already implements the patterns, which is frowned upon impleading in code one or both patterns EF is already using. 

https://javarevisited.blogspot.com/2013/01/data-access-object-dao-design-pattern-java-tutorial-example.html

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/design_pattern/data_access_object_pattern.htm