none
the EULA says "You also may not use the software for commercial software hosting services." RRS feed

• Question

• hello 

in "sql server Express 2008" and "visual studio express all version from 2008-2017", the EULA says "You also may not use the software for commercial software hosting services."

What does this mean?  I have no technical knowledge of what this refers to; the phrase means nothing to me.

Can I make an app that uses a  client/server to communicate across several machines?   The clients and servers may be on multiple machines but on one lan network (edernet).   Also, I suppose the apps can be considered commercial.

it is means i don't create app for money?

or means i don't use my program for small workstation?

i have 2 questions:

1-can i sell the application that i created by "SQL server express" and "visual studio express" to other people?(for example i am create programs included 2 parts one part install to server PC and other part install to client PCs)

2-what is commercial hosting service (what means)? please tell me example

please answer to 2 above questions one by one,if possible

best regards

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 2:27 PM

Answers

• I can't answer (1).  But commercial hosting services are web hosting companies that run servers that website designers upload their website files to so that their websites are available on the internet.

For example, I used Visual Studio Express and SQL Server Express on my local computer to design the website files for my website homepagedoctor.com, and the database needed by my website. They are free for me to use that way.

Then to make my website available on the internet, I transferred all my website files to a web hosting company, and I transferred the SQLServerExpress database from my pc up to SQLServer at the hosting company.