none
Exchange Web Services (EWS), GetItem() call produces AccessDenied error

Question

• Hello.  I am very new to Exchange web services development, so any help would be appreciated.  I am looking at an application (via an aspx page) that is attempting to use the GetItem method, but every time this method is called, it receives and Access Denied error, unless a set of credentials is forced in, like this:

binding.Credentials = new NetworkCredential("userid", "password", "domain");

However, I have no way of getting the password, unless there is Basic authentication on the site, and it would be in the Request["AUTH_PASSWORD"] object, but in the real world I have no way of knowing the authentication model that each customer will use.  So what I'm wondering is when I create my Exchange Services Binding object, is there a way to set the credentials using the CredentialCache?  Similar to:

binding.UseDefaultCredentials = true;

binding.Credentials = CredentialCache.DefaultCredentials;

OR

binding.Credentials = CredentialCache.DefaultNetworkCredentials;

When I attempt to use either of these methods, I get the AccessDenied error from the GetItem() call.  But before that call, there is a call to ConvertId which doesn't seem to cause any problems.

In addition to any expertise anyone might have on setting the credentials, can anyone point me towards sample code that demonstrates Exchange Web Services usage via an ASPX page?

thanks for any help you can provide.

Friday, August 15, 2008 9:14 PM

All replies