none
Modified By Showing as SharePoint App after running a deisgner 2013 workflow under App Step

Question

• Hi All,

I have a workflow that will fire when any new item created or modified automatically and here my issue that after a new item created or modified its giving modified by column as 'SharePoint App' instead of the current logged user. why this happening. and i want the modified by column to be the user who modified the item. I am running this workflow under App Step

I am new to SharePoint

Sunday, December 25, 2016 12:30 PM

Answers

1. The workflow is in suspended state probably because you are performing an activity which the current logged in user does not have access to.
    2. You have created a new field 'Modified_ByDt' but you are still populating it with the OOB Modified column which is going to give you the elevated privilege account.
    3. Use WorkflowContext:Initiator in place of CurrentItem:Modified. This should probably give you the name of the current logged in user and set it in your Modified_ByDt field.

Hope this helps.

Regards, Huzefa Mala, MCPD, MCT Please mark the post that answered your question as the answer, and mark other helpful posts as helpful, so they will appear differently to other users who are visiting your thread for the same problem.

• Marked as answer by ShajiManj Monday, December 26, 2016 12:28 PM
    Monday, December 26, 2016 6:22 AM

All replies

• Any updates?? I am using SharePoint designer 2013 workflow platform.

I am new to SharePoint

Monday, December 26, 2016 4:42 AM
  • An "APP STEP" is used to run the steps of the workflow with elevated privileges.

That means the current logged in user does not have permissions to perform that specific action on the list. So, the workflow runs the steps with a privileged account.

Modified By field cannot be set through workflow.

What is the reason of using App Step in your case?