none
Expression and DotNetnuke RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to web development and I will try not to ask questions that have been asked many times before. My question is regarding DotNetnuke Skins and expression studio. If I wanted to use expression to create a skin for DNN would I have to do it by code view? I dont know Css or Html all that well yet and want to know what is possible without touching code. I am also curious what can I do with expression blend and Dnn? Is it possble to create a menu bar or buttons using the behaviors, and utilize them in a dnn site? I have read that you can use EW as a design tool for site like dnn, but how? I am willing to put in the time to learn but not sure what that is.

Thanks....

Tuesday, July 6, 2010 6:44 PM

Answers

• From the DotNetnuke web site forum: http://www.dotnetnuke.com/Community/Forums/tabid/795/forumid/118/threadid/188467/scope/posts/Default.aspx

Nina Meiers:

"You can skin using Expression Web, but only using html method and you can't really see the menu structure which a lot of designers spend their time on.

If you attempt to skin using Expression Web, with the ascx controls you end up with lots of grey boxes as it can't find all the controls -there is no 'hook' into the system unlike the Sharepoint Designer which is a dll that hooks the sharepoint app and the controls used.

So if that's where you coming from in reference to hooking into actual functionality of adding content and moving things around, as explained in the previous post, it's done online, but if you want to modify the look and feel of the application, in html format Expression web can work for you."

Tuesday, July 6, 2010 7:26 PM