none
Empower based subscription RRS feed

• Question

•  

I got my MSDN subscription as complimentary through Microsoft Empower program. The program is now ending. Now I want to renew my subscription by paying for it. Questions:

1) How do I find my subscription ID for renewal? I can't find it anywhere after login.

2) Instead of all inclusive Universal subscription, I want only the OS, VS 2008 and Office 2007. Which one should I go for?

Thanks,

Sanjay

Friday, February 22, 2008 8:39 AM

Answers

All replies

• Sanjay:

You won't be able to actually "renew" the Empower Subscription.

You will purchase a new subscription. You can go to http://msdn2.microsoft.com/subscriptions/aa718656.aspx to find links to comparing subscription types, entitlements, purchase options, and costs.

The comparison page is at: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/subscriptions/aa718657.aspx

I would recommend you log in to your existing subscription before it expires and export your keys for easy future access and use.

Monday, February 25, 2008 4:53 AM
  • Hi Julie,

Thanks for responding.

>>I would recommend you log in to your existing subscription before it expires and export your keys for easy future access and use.<<

I am a little confused on this. Questions:

1) Since Empower doesn't have a subscription ID when I buy a new subscription, I will get a new set of keys. Then will the current keys be still valid? Will I have to reinstall software with new keys? That would be inconvenient.

2) As far as I understand, once Empower expires, the licenses are no longer valid. But with my renewal will the licenses continue with the old keys?

Thanks,

Sanjay

Monday, February 25, 2008 5:31 AM