Blazor WebAssembly for Consumer facing application? Is it ready? RRS feed

• Question

• User-1553511783 posted

Hi all,

I've been a full stack developer for over 15 years. I started working on ASP.NET , MVC, then moved to AngularJS + Rest Services, and didn't move to REACT or Angular.   

I came across Blazor WebAssembly and I loved it from the first time, and I implemented several enterprise applications during the last couple of months. Complex applications but for a small amount of internal users.

I now have the need to create a new application, this time it's public and for customers all around the world, with lots of data, searches, payment gateways, and so on.  And having struggled with Blazor at some point, I have to ask you : Would you go with this technology as it is?  Or would it make more sense to use REACT (Angular, Vue, or any other)) with Rest services? 

My main concern is if in terms of stability and performance , is this technology in your opinion ready to be used in something like that?  

Thank you in advance for your opinions.

Victor

Tuesday, December 22, 2020 2:24 AM

All replies

• User-474980206 posted

the main performance issue with Blazor is load time at startup as you probably already know. I'd say its mature enough to do a public facing WASM applications. Its main disadvantage compared to say React, is the amount of public support (example code) and this party library support. if its world wide, you should have an idea of the browsers (probably mobile phones) that you need to support. what percent will require WASM emulation? 

You will need to evaluate how hard it is to create the application you want in Blazor. Blazor strength is form based applications common for enterprise. How far from this does your app stray? Fancy UI effects as you know will generally require javascript interop. But sharing logic and passing data to the server is easier.

Tuesday, December 22, 2020 4:11 PM
  • User-1553511783 posted

Hi Bruce,