How do I overlay an image on to another image? RRS feed

• Question

• User576287374 posted

Hey all, 

I'm fairly new to the manipulation of images. At the moment I need to be able to take an uploaded image and paste on to an existing image. Basically merging a smaller image on to a larger one. However with the code I am using I receive

Parameter must be positive and < Height.
    Parameter name: y

This is currently what my code looks like:

protected void saveMergedImages(string strPathToImages)
    {
        string[] images = Directory.GetFiles(strPathToImages);

Bitmap simulation = combineImages(images);

simulation.Save(strPathToImages, System.Drawing.Imaging.ImageFormat.Bmp);
        simulation.Dispose();
    }

Bitmap combineImages(string[] image)
    {
       Bitmap template = new Bitmap(image[0]);
       Bitmap picture = new Bitmap(image[1]);

for (int w = 0; w < template.Width; w++)
          {
            for (int H = 0; H < template.Height; H++)
              {
                if (w >= 60 && w < 240)
                   {
                    if (H >= 60 && H < 390)
                     {
                        template.SetPixel(w, H, picture.GetPixel(w - 60, H - 60));
                     }
                    }
                  template.SetPixel(w, H, template.GetPixel(w, H));
               }
           }
    return template;
    }

Please could someone help or point me in the right direction.

Friday, April 20, 2012 8:25 AM

Answers

• User576287374 posted

Ok so I scrapped the code above as I find it somewhat messy, apart from that, swapping the images tends to be a pain.
    Also, what if you have more than 2 images in the folder and need to be specific about the images you wish to use?

The code i'm using now works like a charm, it's straight forward and easy to manipulate:

//### Merges the uploaded file with the current Billboard choice.