sql server 2014: Cannot initialize the data source object of OLE DB provider "MSOLAP" for linked server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new to DBA activities and network related issues , Could  Please suggest  me how to proceed below issue.  

I am trying create (SSAS cube) linked server from database engine i.e in sql server 2014 but i am getting below error ,

Cannot initialize the data source object of OLE DB provider "MSOLAP" for linked server "UMG_GLOBE".
    OLE DB provider "MSOLAP" for linked server "UMG_GLOBE" returned message "The following system error occurred:  
    A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond. ". (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 7303)

I tried with below solutions 

1) trusted delineation  is enabled for service account 

but i am unable to create linked server  , Could you  please let me know if any one have solutions .

Thanks ,

Prashanth kothi

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 9:31 AM

All replies

• Hi All,

I am new to DBA activities and network related issues , Could  you Please suggest  me how to proceed below issue.  

I am trying create (SSAS cube) linked server from database engine i.e in sql server 2014 but i am getting below error ,

Cannot initialize the data source object of OLE DB provider "MSOLAP" for linked server "UMG_GLOBE".
    OLE DB provider "MSOLAP" for linked server "UMG_GLOBE" returned message "The following system error occurred:  
    A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond. ". (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 7303)

I tried with below solutions 

1) trusted delineation  is enabled for service account 

but i am unable to create linked server  , Could you  please let me know if any one have solutions .

Thanks ,

Prashanth kothi