Alternative for LS Desktop? RRS feed

• Question

• I am not a professional developer, but developed a couple of database applications - using LS desktop - that serve me well.

Reading the stories about the future of LS (or lack thereof) worries me.

The following questions come to mind:

- although LS is on its way out, can I expect the applications I developed to function for a reasonable time (no new developments). In 2011 I migrated my apps and data from Visual Foxpro 9 to LS/SQLServer - by the way, the Foxpro apps still work like a charm on Windows10 :-) - and I am willing to do another migration if necessary, but I would need some lead time;

- what are the replacement options for LS Desktop? (I would like to stick to SQL Server for the data and I need features like OLAP and graphs - the latter can be via extensions);

Thanks in advance for pointing me in the right direction.

André

• Edited by VFP9Belgium2 Tuesday, September 5, 2017 9:51 AM Closing the question.
    Saturday, June 10, 2017 8:57 AM

Answers

• Hi Benoit,

Thanks for the reply.

I understand that serenity is a web development tool, and that it is not possible to make a desktop application (with an executable that can be installed).

Further browsing learned me that there are alternatives - although no matches for LS - but they come at an annual fee. Not a big deal for a company, but far too expensive for a hobbyist.

Regards

André

• Marked as answer by VFP9Belgium2 Tuesday, September 5, 2017 9:52 AM
    Tuesday, August 29, 2017 6:34 AM

All replies

• André, give a look at serenity.is

Benoit Sarton

Monday, July 24, 2017 8:50 PM
  • Hi Benoit,

Thanks for the reply.

I understand that serenity is a web development tool, and that it is not possible to make a desktop application (with an executable that can be installed).