Can someone point in the right direction for how to make a multiplayer game over the internet

General discussion

• Hello,

I am looking into making a game where two people who can be in different places would log on to the app, log in and can play - i.e. they would be connected over the internet. I'm looking for a hint on what is the direction to take and which technologies. For example is there a best practice for example if you make an app with DirectX and C++, and you use some kind of web service or something? or is it easier using C# and XNA? just looking for some pointers in the right direction. I have played around with DirectX, far from proficient but have familiarity, I have no experience with XNA but hear it's less hardcore and easier going. I'm particularly interested in what the best way to connect over the internet.

Thanks

Friday, January 23, 2015 3:18 PM

All replies

• No, there's no best practice here.  It's wide open - clear blue sky.  Just about anything you can think of has been tried and done with varying degrees of success.

Literally,

• To communicate over the internet, use a socket.
    • To display graphics use DirectX.

But that's not likely the answer you're looking for.

It sounds to me like you're planning too big of a step.

This is a VERY open ended question. If you actually expect an answer then you might be interested in using an engine, which puts you into a domain where those open-ended kinds of questions are answered in a single context, like Unity.

Friday, January 23, 2015 4:03 PM
  • What you are asking is very complicated and one of the more difficult things you can do in gaming. I'd strongly recommend you start smaller to learn and then move up to multi-player games as your skills grow.