none
Sharing contacts from Access throughout company (to appear in Outlook) RRS feed

• Question

•   Ok, so I have my whole company converted over to a new timekeeping system I built in Access. My next task is to create a centralized Contact list that everyone can see AND add to/edit if needs be. I have extracted all business contacts from every employee and the old "Daytimer" system many are so attached to...  

I'm a rookie developer, and the idea is still nebulous here so bear with me, but am basically curious if I could load the contact list into Access therefore keeping them central and tied to my Client table but have it accessible to everyone through their own Outlook so they don't have to go dig through Access and then copy the contact's email address into an email to get in touch. So, 1) can Outlook contacts be linked to the Access back end in such a way that 2) additions or edits made by any given person are then reflected Company-wide in the Access backend? I am not scared of writing some serious code, I'm having a lot of fun learning it. Looking for an elegant solution. I just need a little direction or perhaps some useful links or what have you. I'm not quite finding what I want searching as I have been. Your advice is always appreciated.

• Edited by Doug Comstock Friday, September 30, 2016 9:42 PM typo
    Friday, September 30, 2016 6:43 PM

Answers

• Hi Doug,

It might be easier if your company has a SharePoint site to store the contacts info as a back end.

Just a thought...

Friday, September 30, 2016 6:49 PM
  • Hi Doug,

Thanks for suggestion from DBguy.

For another way, I suggest you try to link Outlook Contact Folder from Access. You could refer the link below for more information.

# Share data between Access 2010 and Outlook 2010

https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Share-data-between-Access-2010-and-Outlook-2010-0edb4de0-bf7a-48d0-b557-ed44983c5d0d

Best Regards,

Edward