none
Use of Delegates through WCF RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I have a doubt about the use of delegates in WCF, I'm a beginner in WCF, as I am in Delegates.

The scenario is as follows:

A service application and a dll as a client being used in a Console App (in order to test the dll), this, because the dll client is going to be used later in a final software which allows the use of .net dlls. All of this is going to be executed locally (the service, and the software which uses the dll client) by using netNamedPipes.

Well, In the service side I have a method which takes a long time (more than 1 sec.) to be executed and when using the dll in the afore mentioned software, the execution of the software using the dll client crashes, so I found that a possible solution for this situation is the use of Asynchronous Execution (IAsyncResult BeginProcess / EndProcess) in the service side of the long time execution process. It was all fine until I was asked to change all the processes in the service to be executed asynchronously, for that reason I decided to create a class (DataInput) with a constructor that takes optional named parameters which allows me to use it in every service method and that way (as far I understand) in the callback function with the use of a delegate I could just call the "passed method" via that delegate with the object instantiated with the needed arguments.

I hope I have explained myself clearly.

Thanks in advance.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015 2:57 PM

Answers

All replies

• Thank you Stefan,

The first approach is the one I used successfuly in my case.

Additionally I want to make a "generic" implementation (I don't know if it's possible) of the asynchronous model for all the service operations, with a delegate instantiated in the client and passed to the service, so that the service can identify which operation is going to be executed.

Regards.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015 3:50 PM