none
Windows HLK - can't install driver for testing on client machine RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm new to driver development and testing and I apologize in advance for any silly questions.

I'm developing a microphone driver and am at the stage I want to sign it for public use.  I'm want to use the HLK to create a package and submit to the hardware dashboard but I've hit a bit of a snag. 

My current problem is that I can't install my driver on my machine that runs HLK client because the driver isn't signed.  

I'm probably missing a step but I couldn't find anything in the HLK docs.  It just assumes your device is installed and you can select it to run tests on.  

I might be able to boot my client pc with the driver signature enforcement disabled but I feel like I shouldn't have to do that.  

Is there a way to sign this driver for testing purposes?  Unfortunately I can't build the driver with a test certificate on my development machine due to IT policies (I can't go into the bios settings to allow for the bcedit to work).  

Is there a way to use my client machine to sign the driver with a test certificate?  Or is there another way for the HLK to idenify my driver (I was hoping HLK would take into account that you're probably going to test an unsigned driver).  

Thanks in advance!

HLK client machine specs:
    i7-4790k 4ghz

32 GB Ram

Nvidia GTX 980m

Windows 10 Pro build 16299

Monday, March 12, 2018 11:26 PM

All replies

• a) AFAIK there is no way to configure your machine to run permanent in a "driver signature enforcement disabled" mode. Consider that during the tests the machine will be reboot several times (roughly 3-5 times per test case).

b) Anyhow for submission you need a singed driver and you also need to sign the submission with EV2