none
Select joined rows based on subquery RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to LINQ and I have a simple query to convert to FROM SQL to LINQ. I've tried several variations using LinqPad but I just can't wrap my head around it. 

I have two tables, a document table and a tracking table. The two tables are linked to each other via a document id. For each document record there can be many tracking records. In other words ... a very typical one-to-many situation. All I want to do is join the two tables where one of the tracking records for a particular document has a certain status. In normal SQL, I would do something like this:

select * 
    from MDLServiceDocument msd
    inner join MDLServiceTracking mst 
      on msd.MDLServiceDocId = mst.MDLServiceDocId
    where exists 
      (
        select mst2.MDLServiceDocId 
        from  MDLServiceTracking mst2 
        where mst2.MDLServiceDocId = msd.MDLServiceDocId 
          and mst2.MDLServiceStatusId = 100
      )
    order by msd.MDLServiceDocId

The above query will return all joined rows where there is at least one tracking record with a status of 100 for a document. How do I do that in LINQ?

Thanks!

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 7:35 PM

Answers

• Hi PTOPIA;

Try the following query. If I understan it this should give you what you want.

DataContext context = new DataContext();

var result = from msd in context.MDLServiceDocument
           where msd.MDLServiceTracking.Any( mst2 => mst2.MDLServiceStatusId == 100 )
           orderby msd.MDLServiceDocId
           select msd;

Fernando
    If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".
    • Marked as answer by PTOPIA Thursday, March 17, 2011 1:12 PM
    Tuesday, March 15, 2011 9:40 PM

All replies

• Hi PTOPIA;

Try the following query. If I understan it this should give you what you want.

DataContext context = new DataContext();

var result = from msd in context.MDLServiceDocument