Concurrency and updating DirectXPage::m_renderNeeded

Question

• Let me preface this post with a note that this is my first time working with the concurrency stuff so I'm probably making a stupid mistake somewhere.

I'm having difficulty getting consistent results when I use create_task in my UI thread. This is in an app derived from the XAML Direct2D template, so it has a SwapChainBackgroundPanel and the m_renderNeeded member in the DirectXPage class. m_renderNeeded is checked in DirectXPage::OnRendering to see if the SCBP needs to be updated. OnRendering is called constantly and, usually, all I have to do to force an update of the SCBP is set m_renderNeeded to true. However, when I set m_renderNeeded in the thread of a create_task lambda, it doesn't appear to work properly. Here's a code snippet:

// // this is inside a DirectXPage function //

void DirectXPage::Button_Clicked( stuff )

{

SynchronousWork(); // generate some graphics quickly

create_task([this]() // defer slow stuff to thread { FastFunction(); // generate some more D3D elements quickly m_renderNeeded = true; SlowFunction(); // generate some more D3D elements slowly

m_renderNeeded = true; }) .then([this]() { m_renderNeeded = true; });

m_renderNeeded = true;

}

When I click on the button, the SynchronousWork stuff is displayed instantly, as expected. The problem is with FastFunction and SlowFunction. It looks like their output is typically displayed simultaneously after SlowFunction completes rather than one after the other. It's almost as if DirectXPage::m_renderNeeded isn't being set properly in the task.