none
VBA:How to get sum of cells when I know other cell value RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everybody

I am new to VBA but have good knowledge of dot net, SQL and so. Recently my boss handed me an Excel file where he needs some calculations. In SQL it would be very easy but I can't figure out how to do it in Excel.

Table example:
    MODNAME     ACTIVITY PRICE
    MOD1 0001 0.00
    MOD1 0002 0.00
    MOD1 0003 0.00
    MOD2 0001 0.00
    MOD2 0002 0.00
    MOD2 0003 0.00

And all I need to do is something like:
    select sum(price) as TotalPrice from TableName where modname = 'mod2' and activity in('0001','0003')

Google pointed me to AutoFilters, so I wrote a Sub which visually works.
    Code:
    Dim rangeFound As String
    Sub FindValue()
        Range("A1").AutoFilter Field:=1, Criteria1:="mod2"
        Range("A1").AutoFilter Field:=2, Criteria1:=Array("0003", "0004", "0007", "0008"), Operator:=xlFilterValues
        rangeFound = Range("A1").CurrentRegion.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeVisible).Address
        MsgBox (rangeFound)
        Range("A1").AutoFilter
    End Sub

But I can't figure out how to use this range to get the sum.
    Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance
    Raj

BTW, if I run the sub directly, it gives me right range of visible cells but if I call the same Sub from a function like:
    Function FindValue2() As String
        Call FindValue
    End Function

it always gives me range $A$1. Why so?
    Wednesday, January 29, 2014 11:55 PM

All replies

• Re:  sum range with multiple criteria

'---
    Sub FindValueR1()
        Dim rangeFound As String   '<<< moved

Range("A1").AutoFilter Field:=2, Criteria1:=Array("0003", "0004", "0007", "0008"), Operator:=xlFilterValues
        rangeFound = Range("A1").CurrentRegion.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeVisible).Address
        MsgBox Application.WorksheetFunction.Sum(Range(rangeFound))   '<<< changed
        Range("A1").AutoFilter
    End Sub

-OR-

Sub FindValueR2()
        Dim rangeFound As Excel.Range