Binding string of image file locations to an image control in desktop app. RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Lightswitch. I've been evaluating it for about 2 weeks now and thought that a good way to dive in is to try to replicate the functionality of an MS Access project that uses SQL Server on the backend. 

I have a table of image file locations used for a product catalog. These are not blob fields but rather nvarchars that hold the filename and path to the images. I thought it would be a simple matter of providing the file location field as a string to an image control so it could display thumbnails in a grid for a desktop app. It looks like it can be easily done with an HTML client app (although I have not tried) but I've run up against a brick wall trying to bind the built-in image control to a string property of an entity that points to local and network files.

I'm not a silverlight developer so building a custom control would be a lot of work since the ramp up time to be productive would be considerable.

Am i missing something obvious or is my only option a custom silverlight control? So far I'm realy liking Lightswitch especially since it makes building multi-tier apps so quick and easy. I'm even been considering using it solely for creating oData services, since its so simple, and consuming them from traditional winforms or asp.net apps that I've been writing since forever!

Thanks,
    Stef.

Wednesday, May 1, 2013 4:31 AM

All replies

• I'm not a silverlight developer so building a custom control would be a lot of work since the ramp up time to be productive would be considerable.

Hi,

it does not matter, I was not a silverlight developer too, but you can become one very easily. creating your own silverlight control for Lightswitch is very easy indeed. I would recommend reading Michael Washingtons books. On his page LightSwitch Help Website you can also find many very good tutorials, that explain how to make your own Usercontrol.