none
ArgumentException was unhandled

Question

• I am a newbie in Visual Studio so please excuse my probably naive question in advance. I tried my best to get what I could from Google but wasn't enough.

I inherited a code developed in VS Express 2010 (VB) and now trying to run/modify it in VS2015. I can Build the project and solution but when I try to debug the code it throw the following message

An unhandled exception of type 'System.ArgumentException' occurred in UserControlTestContainer.exe
    Also says that my project .dll doesn't contain any UserControl types.

From my research, I guess it has something to do with version compatibility but I am not sure. Any idea is highly appreciated. I am stuck!

P.S: This code is an add-in for Autodesk Inventor 2015 which creates a .dll and .addin file to extend the functionality of the software. 

Thursday, April 27, 2017 4:03 PM

Answers

• Additional information: Assembly 'C:\Users\...\Documents\My Coding Playground\CS discover\InventorAddIn3\InventorAddIn3\obj\Debug\test.dll' doesn't contain any UserControl types.

That seems like a project configuration error. For instance, if your project is a class library and you are trying to execute it.   In that case you would usually have another project in the solution which is a test for the class library, and that other project must be set as the startup project. If you have a solution that is only a class library then you can't execute it - you can only build it, and test it from another solution.  That seems like a possibility from your description of inheriting this task.    You can add a test project to the existing solution, but make sure it is the startup project. Then build everything and execute the test.  That may not be the exact scenario, but it will be something along those lines.   See:  https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/a1awth7y.aspx

• Marked as answer by Pooya.Row Wednesday, May 3, 2017 1:02 PM
    Friday, April 28, 2017 9:35 PM
  • Error BC30451