none
VS2008 SP1 crashes when datasource removed from RDLC file... RRS feed

• Question

• I am pretty new to using the ReportViewer for creating client side reports.

While I have been creating reports, I have been playing my the datasources, my project uses objects. Sometimes I add and remove.

I have tried to remove a datasource using the datasource viewer but this does not remove it from the RDLC XML file...I have manually gone there to delete the source but when that is done, VS will crash.

I'd have thought that removing a data source would automatically update the RDLC but this is not the case.

The crash is consistent when following these steps.

1. Create report.

2. Add 2 data sources.

3. Save and view report.

4. Delete one data source from the xml and try to build and run...it crashes.

Anyone noticed this?

Tuesday, September 14, 2010 6:04 PM

Answers

• Anyway, I think we can survive through this by not making the designer work too much. If we need to remove a datasource, we'd consider creating a new RDLC and copying and pasting the contents of the old one.

Hi ludwigg,

Actually, we could delete the report item which depend on the datasource firstly, then delete the datasource by right-clicking the datasource name in the Solution Explorer window and then select Delete. This method works fine in my local environment (both VS2008 and VS2010). It might have some relationship with your environment, here I would recommend you close other application and other Reports to vacate much resource for designer just as you mentioned. Although it is not a grace method, anyway it works for you.

Thanks,

Challen Fu

• Marked as answer by ludwigg Tuesday, September 21, 2010 4:56 PM
    Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:06 AM

All replies

• Hi ludwigg,