none
How to Find a Specific Coordinate for Small Basic? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi and thanks for reading my request.

Currently, I am running into problems trying to figure out what the X and Y coordinates are for moving object named Ball. I have published the small basic game so the code can be seen by importing it into your small basic program by importing FGZ797.

To shoot the bullet, you must press the key 'A.'

Is there any coordinate or command to find out the coordinates of the moving object and apply it? I am using Shape.Animation to make the Ball move, however, I would like the ball to stop when the bullet enters anywhere in the Ball's terrain. Is there any possible way to do this with the current code I have? I am very new to small basic and would greatly appreciate any intended help.

My main concern really is what should I put into the If command here highlighted in bold. I am unsure on what to do to get the desired effect of the ball stopping when the bullet "hits."

If (Bulletx = x) Then
    Hit = "true"
          If Hit = "true" Then
            Shapes.Animate(Ball,x,y,0)
            Sound.PlayClickAndWait()
            Program.Delay(200)
            GraphicsWindow.ShowMessage("You killed the invader." "Congratulations")
            GraphicsWindow.Clear()
            Ship()
            Endif
          Endif

Once again, thanks for all the help. Any support would be appreciated.
    Thursday, March 18, 2010 5:55 PM

Answers

• You need to know the position of the target and bullet, X and Y coordinates of both.

You can then check for a hit by checking if they overlap, or perhaps easier is to check the distance between the objects.

If the bullet is at (bX,bY) and the target is at (tX,tY), then the distance between them is

dist = Math.SquareRoot((bX-tX)*(bX-tX) + (bY-tY)*(bY-tY))

Then, in your if you need:

If (dist < distMin) Then
      Hit = "True"

where distMin is some variable holding a minimum distance before they collide.