Multiple instances of Trevor Taylor's Serial Port code RRS feed

• Question

• Hey I want to get some tips on how I can tackle this problem.

On the system I am working on (robot) I have a need to connect up to more than 4 usb ports via hub. Meaning each port will be controlled separately in MDRS. How can I possible introduce the serial port code as a service but at the same time have different configuration for each of these ports. Ultimately what I want to avoid is having to replicate the serial port code 4 times to represent the 4 comm ports. Any ideas would be appreciated ?

Im new to the world of VPL. Hence why im here :)
    Wednesday, July 20, 2011 11:57 PM

Answers

• Hmm. I just found that the Visual Studio Wizard does not properly handle multiple instances of a partner. Oh well, it's easy to fix.

What I did was create a new service using Visual Studio and specify the Serial Port service as a partner 4 times. In the generated code I renamed each of the partners to have a different suffix, e.g. here are the first 2 partners:

/// <summary>
        /// SerialPortService partner
        /// </summary>
        [Partner("SerialPortService1", Contract = comms.Contract.Identifier, CreationPolicy = PartnerCreationPolicy.UseExistingOrCreate)]
        comms.SerialPortOperations _serialPortServicePort1 = new comms.SerialPortOperations();
        comms.SerialPortOperations _serialPortServiceNotify1 = new comms.SerialPortOperations();

/// <summary>
        /// </summary>
        [Partner("SerialPortService2", Contract = comms.Contract.Identifier, CreationPolicy = PartnerCreationPolicy.UseExistingOrCreate)]
        comms.SerialPortOperations _serialPortServicePort2 = new comms.SerialPortOperations();
        comms.SerialPortOperations _serialPortServiceNotify2 = new comms.SerialPortOperations();