Mirroring WILL NOT WORK!! RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to using SQL Server, but I have tried seemingly everything in an attempt to establish a mirroring session between two SQL Server 2005 machines.  Both are located on same subnet (10.10.1.XXX).  I altered the hosts file on both machines to point to each other.  From the command prompt, I can ping NETBIOS name, FQDN, or IP Address.  I can establish Telnet sessions with both servers on the port that was used during Endpoint creation.  I have created a User on both machines that has sysadmin priveleges, and is the owner of the database I am trying to mirror.  I have also tried creating certificates for both of the machines and then passing those certificates to the other machine respectively (although, I was unsure of where to place these certificates, and they are currently located on the root of the machine, the c:drive)  Another important thing to mention would be that I am using VMWare Workstation with two virtual machines.  I have the network settings set to Bridged so that each machine operates seperately from the others.  However, I have since set up two actual computers with Windows Server 2003, and I am still encountering the same issues.  When I attempt to Alter the Database and Set the Partner on the Principal Server (which is of course the second to last step in a 50-step process), I get an error message that states the partner can not be reached.  Upon further inspection, I found the SQL Server Agent Log states that it could not find the certificate for logging on to the partner.  The timeout always occurs at roughly 20 seconds after the T-SQL statement is executed.  Any help on this issue would be greatly appreciated.  I would ask for a clear and concise tutorial for setting up a mirroring session, but I have went through about ten of those already, and all of them are different (half of them don't specify which machine you are working on principal or mirror; it just seems that most of the tutorials