none
Load balancing with intermediate Driver IM RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Everyone,

Im Completely Lost now, im pretty new to WDK and im trying to understand the best way to implement the following :

Problem : I want to send Traffic across multiple interfaces as per a loadblancing algorithm that i will make, its UnEqual Loadbalancing , So all of the traffic for example coming from my system (just say like vpn solution) will go through the load balancing algorithm.

My Solutions which are not Right for sure !

-------

Sol1. IM Driver Mux that will do 1-N , in here i have to create a protocol Driver as well and Attach my IM to the protocol and the minport on each interface i Want to use in my Load balancing .

How to tie all of the traffic on my system to have a next hop being my Load balancer , do i need a virtual miniport and change the routing table of my system as well ?

--------

Sol2. Make a protocol Driver Attach it to the physical interfaces, then make a virtual miniport Adapter, Bind it to the protocol Drivers on many physical interfaces as i want, then implement the Load balancing by send specific traffic to each protocol seperatly .

Making here the virtual miniport as the next hop of my system by modifying the routing table , then the virtual miniport will take care of the load balancing alogrithm !!

----------

Finally ... Why Do I need to create a protocol Driver while the tcp/ipv4 protocol already installed on the system and present in our physical interfaces already is Enough for me ?? Can I bind to that protocol driver ?

What I described above is what my level of knowledge drove me into, your feedback will REALLY help understand and get out of he confusion .

Best Regards,

• Edited by HGBTester Friday, February 7, 2014 3:20 PM
    Friday, February 7, 2014 3:14 PM

Answers

• Typically, you'd use a MUX-IM driver to implement load balancing.