Association mapped incorrectly by designer? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm just getting started with Entity Framework.  I installed the AdventureWorksLT database, created a project, added a new ADO.Net Entity Data Model (pointed to AdventureWorksLT data connection), and can compile and run a small program that gets a Product by ProductID.

The database has a Product table with PK ProductID and FK ProductModelID, among other fields.  There is also a ProductModel table that has PK ProductModelID, Name, and other fields.

I want to get the ProductModel Name for the Product I have retrieved.  However, when I try to use Product.ProductModel, I get null.  The data in the database supports this association (Product.ProductModelID == 6 and there is a record in ProductModel table with ProductModelID == 6).  So I would expect this association to work.  Am I misunderstanding something?

In the designer when I click on the association between Product entity and ProductModel entity it seems to show ProductModel.ProductModelID relating to Product.ProductID, which I don't understand.  This relationship is represented correctly in the database.

I look in the .edmx and see this:
              <AssociationSetMapping Name="FK_Product_ProductModel_ProductModelID" TypeName="AdventureWorksLTModel.FK_Product_ProductModel_ProductModelID" StoreEntitySet="Product">
                <EndProperty Name="ProductModel">
                  <ScalarProperty Name="ProductModelID" ColumnName="ProductModelID" />
                </EndProperty>
                <EndProperty Name="Product">
                  <ScalarProperty Name="ProductID" ColumnName="ProductID" />
                </EndProperty>
                <Condition ColumnName="ProductModelID" IsNull="false" />
              </AssociationSetMapping>

Is the designer mapping Product.ProductID to ProductModel.ProductModelID?  That would explain the record not found since there is no ProductModel with ProductModelID equal to the ProductID I'm using.

Ryan