Design Pattern Question RRS feed

• Question

• User1304912589 posted

I am new to design patterns. While I plan to learn as many patterns as I can, I currently have an immediate need that I must fullfill.  My data access layer writes to two different sources of data, one is SQL Server and the other is a legacy flat file database.  Sometimes I need to write to only the Sql Server database and sometimes I need to write to both the Sql Server database and the Legacy database.

Given the following fictious example I have three classes:

1. Customer - which is nothing but an entity class
    2. CustomerSqlServer - which has a Save method with the following signature Save(Customer c)
    3. CustomerLegacy - which has a Save method with the following signature Save(Customer c)

My boss suggests that I code the system by always calling the Save method on the CustomerSqlServer class and then use an if statement to determine whether or not to call the Save method on the CustomerLegacy class. 

I don't want to do this especially because at some point in the future the Legacy system is going away.  Once the legacy system goes away I don't want to have to find and remove each of the 'if' statements or make sure that if I decide to leave the 'if' statements, that they always return false. Ideally I don't want the code that calls the CustomerSqlServer to even know about the CustomerLegacy class.

I assume that there is a better way to do this.  Is there a pattern or patterns that I could use to solve this?  If so, what are they so I can study them sooner rather then later. If there is not a pattern that I could use, is there a way that I can accomplish what I need without the 'if' statements?

Thanks

Thursday, February 4, 2010 1:30 PM

Answers

• User8761146 posted

I recommend u to try using State pattern. It's easy and works fine.

Just search for "State pattern" and you'll have decision in 15 minutes)

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM