none
Question to Biztalk Devs from an Infrastructure Admin - Sandboxes? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all - I'm a Server Admin and my company is looking to upgrade to BizTalk 2013. The development team has requested 9 Sandbox VMs with Server 2k12, 8gb RAM, 2CPU on each VM. These VMs are to develop within and test Biztalk in their own local environments.

My question is:  is there any reason that these developers can't use Windows 8.1? They each want their own SQL instance and Biztalk Server install within a sandbox, but does it need to be on a beefy W2k12r2?

I've looked everywhere and am having trouble finding good documentation on a best-practice in a situation like this.

Thanks in advance!

Wednesday, January 6, 2016 8:29 PM

Answers

• I would recommend you to let these guys have their sandbox up in Azure. Below are my suggestions from "Best to the one I least recommend".

Option 1:

Let them run the solution up in Azure, create one Image and re-use it for the developers. This is a very low cost setup and the VMs in Azure are not expensive compared to the cost for having the sandbox machines on-prem.

Option 2:

Make sure they have good machines to begin with and set it up as local Hyper-V (or VMWare) and let them spin up their own machines.

Option 3:

Although this is a an option I wouldn't recommended it due to all the extra work and resource loss, run these VMs in your local virtualization platform.

Best regards,

Tord G. Nordahl

Thursday, January 7, 2016 7:00 AM

All replies

• A VM with the full stack, Windows, SQL Server, BizTalk Server, SharePoint, VisualStudio provides the best and most productive Developer experience.

And they really shouldn't be sandboxes either.  They should be domain joined VM's using a DEV set of Domin Groups and Accounts.

The most notable gap in using client Windows is IIS.

A VM with 4GB Memory and 100GB disk is usually sufficient.  Hardware is cheap compared to a good developer's time.

Wednesday, January 6, 2016 8:38 PM