none
EDI Processes RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to BizTalk and I am trying to understand how to properly build a multi-partner\multi-connections EDI process.

So this is my scenario....

1. Send\Receive EDI through a VAN connection.

2. Send\Receive EDI via AS2 from certain Trading Partners.

3. send\Receive EDI via FTP from certain Trading Partners.

4. I might have up to twenty Trading Partners, if not more.

I have built similar EDI processes using Emanio Trading Partner, Cleo Lexicom, and Mercator mapping tool. In Emanio Trading Partner I had Networks, which were the connection (AS2, FTP, etc) to the TPs direct networks or our VAN. Within the networks, I had the Trading Partners utilizing the network connection. When the EDI was received, the EDI was sorted to the proper mailboxes(850, 860, 852, etc) of the TPs and a 997 was being placed into the Mail Out Ready mailbox and sent back to the TPs. For sending 856s, 810s, etc. I would retrieve the data from our ERP system, map the data, place it into the proper TP mailbox, translate it to EDI, and send it. I did this for many years. Now that I am starting to implement a similar process in BizTalk, I really need to understand how to properly do it right from the beginning. With that said, I have been watching a lot of BizTalk training videos, reading articles, reading books, and building some testing processes. So I now have a basic understanding about the Parties, Parties Agreements, EDI configuration in the Agreement, Send Port, Receive Port, Receive Location, Pipelines, etc.

I am hoping that I can get some input from the BizTalk Experts here as to how to build my EDI processes. In other words....

1. How many BizTalk Applications do I build, one per Trading Partner? I really would like to keep my Schemas, maps, etc separate as much as possible.

2. How would an Orchestration help me?