Newbie TFS Question: Feature Request Form RRS feed

• Question

• I am a total and complete newbie to this so please forgive me if this was asked / is a really obvious question.

I am pulling together a team to develop a rather large web application. The team is / will use Visual Studio and is developing this application in .Net (ASP.net). I ame using Team Foundation Server 2010 and the process template in use is "MSF For Agile".

Here is my question: Is there a "Feature Request" function that I can use and expose to our client as a web page / web form? I would like to allow the client(s) to make feature requests, request changes, submit bugs, etc in a self serve manner whereby they can simply visit a web page and fill out a form that will walk them through entering all the information (feature title, feature description, issue, bug etc) and capture that data.

Once submitted, I would like to be able to easily find, manage and run reports on these requests / bugs / etc.

Can I / How can I do this in TFS 2010?

Thanks in advance for your help and any pointers, this will really go a long way in helping me manage all the change requests, feature requests, and bugs the client and their team continually contact us about.

Friday, August 6, 2010 5:29 PM

Answers

• Hi,

I think it is better to create a Custom Work Item Types as per your requirements where users can submit their inputs, then provide the access to the users using Work Item Only View which is a Limited Functionality of Team System Web Access and it doesn't require a Client Access License(CAL) for the users.

Check this MSDN library for information on WIOV:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc668124.aspx

By using this approach, it will be easy for planning,tracking and reporting.

Saturday, August 7, 2010 5:17 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Are you familiar with TFS Work Items?