Issues with VBA needing to be recompiled? RRS feed

• Question

• I have a .xlsm file that when I open it and hit enable content - Excel crashes immediately. If I take that same file open it, but instead of enabling content, open up VBA and recompile the code then save and close. If I open the file again and enable the content - everything is fine. I did nothing but recompile the code and save the workbook.

I wanted to know what was the difference was between the non-working version and the working version. So I restored the previous version of the file and saved it as a copy. I used the Excel 2013 spreadsheet compare tool, to compare the working and non-working versions of that file. There was only one thing that was different. (Here is a link to the results exported as a Excel file, incase you can't see the picture.)

Difference - VBA Module Changed

Looking around online, it looks like this is the VBA Header. I'm not a huge expert on VBA code so I don't really know what that mumbo jumbo is saying that changed.

How can I go about finding/troubleshooting this issue were I need to recompile to use the workbook? Why did the VBA code need to be recompiled for the workbook to function again? What really changed?

I'm using Office 2013 64-bit, and update regularly. Other people use this file with Office 2010 64-bit and Office 2010 32-bit. Could there be issues when they save the file, then I try and open it? We are all using Win 7 x64 and Win 8.1 x64. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thursday, April 2, 2015 4:32 PM

All replies

• Hi dvsh88,

>> I did nothing but recompile the code and save the workbook.

What do you mean by "recompile the code". I was confused by the concept recompile, VBA is not a compiling language, and I do not think we can really recompile the VBA code.

>> I'm using Office 2013 64-bit, and update regularly. Other people use this file with Office 2010 64-bit and Office 2010 32-bit.