none
DataContext Events RRS feed

• Question

• I am new with WPF and LinqToSQL, but I am learning and these forums have been extremely valuable, thanks to all who contribute in helping guys like myself.
    I have started to write a WPF application using LinqToSQL and for the bindings I am using CollectionViews.

I want to use DataContext.GetChangeSet() to give the user a display of how many inserts/updates/deletes has been made to the DataContext which has not yet been persisted to the database.

My problem is that I see no event that is raised by the DataContext to determine if there has been any change to the cached data, so that I can call GetChangeSet(). It would have been nice to have some kind of "DataChanged" event that gets triggerred whenever there is an insert/update/delete. I cannot see events on the CollectionViews either that indicate a change.

For now I am using the WPF Grid's "SelectionChanged" event to update the counter whenever the user navigates to a different row, but I am looking for a more elegant approach.

I would appreciate it very much if someone can give me some direction.

Kind regards
    Anton.

Friday, June 5, 2009 7:43 AM

Answers

• Try to override the Update methods using ExecuteDynamicUpdate to gain the full control over the changes. Here is the code sample:
    public partial class MyClass { 
      public MyClass() : base() { 
        OnCreated(); 
      } 
      partial void DeleteMyClass(MyClass instance) { 
        deletedCount++; 
        this.ExecuteDynamicUpdate(instance); 
      } 
      partial void UpdateMyClass(MyClass instance) {   
      updatedCount++; 
      } 
    }
    • Marked as answer by Anton Marais Saturday, June 6, 2009 2:20 AM
    Friday, June 5, 2009 11:17 AM

All replies