Drag-and-drop Between Metro Apps RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm planning a Metro-style app, and checking out feasibility for some of the planned features. So far so good, but there is one thorn in my side. I'd like to be able to drag content from one app to another (in Snap mode). In particular, I would like to drag data from a Metro app into the desktop. My background is in web development, so I've started with building a Metro App in JavaScript, and although I am able to drag content from one part of the app to another using 'draggable="true"', the same does not work into the desktop.

I can get close - when I drag near the snap boundary, the content partially appears in the desktop app, but it disappears again as soon as I cross the border, and the cursor remains in the "nodrop" form.

So, given that my initial attempts have failed - are there any other solutions? Is there another way of dragging content from a JavaScript app, perhaps using a Windows Runtime/Class Library? If it's not possible at all in JavaScript, does anyone know if I'm more likely to have some luck in a lower-level language?

Thanks,

Chris

Sunday, August 5, 2012 7:19 PM

Answers

• Hi Chris,

There is no way to drag between apps. The only interaction is via the contracts.

--Rob

• Marked as answer by Hephistocles Monday, August 6, 2012 8:52 AM
    Sunday, August 5, 2012 7:22 PM

All replies

• Hi Chris,

There is no way to drag between apps. The only interaction is via the contracts.

--Rob

• Marked as answer by Hephistocles Monday, August 6, 2012 8:52 AM
    Sunday, August 5, 2012 7:22 PM
  • That's a shame; thanks anyway.

Chris

Monday, August 6, 2012 8:52 AM
  • Would it not be possible to provide an Inter-App drag+drop API which is based on the sharing contract API?

Drag+drop between apps is basically the same as sharing data, therefore it should be possible to extend the Sharing Contract API so that it works with drag+drop.