Multi state buttons... RRS feed

• Question

• I would like to create a multi state button that has 6 states. Does anyone know if this is possible? I know the checkbox can be a three state button, but I want to create one where I am 'tagging' a list item (upon clicking a specificed area) with one of 5 different icons (the 6th being the null state).

Thanks in advance for your help...

Tuesday, May 10, 2011 9:10 PM

Answers

• Not sure how much this helps, but this is how I would do it.

Disclaimer: I'm not an engineer, I just use the sketchflow GUI.

First I create a Rectangle-Sketch to be the button.

Next I create a new DataStore for the project and a Number type property with the Value of zero.

From the Assets->Behaviors menu I drag 2 SetDataStoreValueAction behaviors and 6 ChangePropertyAction behaviors to the button.

To make the button step through 6 states, change the first SetDataStoreValueAction:

• In the Trigger submenu change the EventName to MouseLeftButtonDown.
    • In the Conditions submenu make a condition that the DataStore property is LessThanOrEqual than Value 5.
    • In the Common Properties submenu set the Property to the DataStore property and the Value to 1 and check the Increment checkbox.

To make the the DataStore property zero again after it reaches number 5, change the second SetDataStoreValueAction:

• In the Trigger submenu change the TriggerType to DataStoreChangedTrigger.
    • In the Conditions submenu make a condition that the DataStore property is GreaterThanOrEqual than Value 6.
    • In the Common Properties submenu set the Property to the DataStore property and the Value to 0 and leave the Increment checkbox unchecked.

Now for each ChangePropertyAction behavior:

• Set a Condition for the property to be Equal to a number between 0-5 and the EventName to MouseLeftButtonDown.