Need help on 3-Tier Architecture Concept RRS feed

• Question

• Sorry if this post should'nt belong here. I'm new to programming and I need advise as to whether my concept on a simple 3-tier architecture design make sense.

I have a project (presentation layer) containing just the window forms. A project (business logic layer) that contains the objects classes. And a project (data access layer) that contains the DAOs.

The presentation layer project has a reference to the business logic project. So in this way, I created a object based on values keyed into the presentation layer forms. In the business logic projects, in my object class, I have a void MyObj.AddObject() which calls the Data access project's MyObjDAO.InsertObject(MyObj obj) that performs the database insertion.

I went ahead with this concept and realise my folly. 2 things happen here: firstly, there is a circular dependency which is not allowed (Business reference Data Access and Data Access reference Business). However if you have added a reference to the business logic dll file instead, you face the error whereby your presentation layer make more than 1 reference to the same assembly.

What i want to achieve is to pass the object created from the presentation and insert into Database by passing the created object around so that a 3 -tier design and decoupling are followed. Can anyone be kind to share some light on a design approach that can accomplish the above and also to achieve a good 3 tier design. Sorry if this sounds newbie.

I am having these impressions:

1. Not have the DAO in a separate project. This avoids having to add a reference to the Business dll. But does that considered a 3-tier approach too?

2. Design the signatures of DAO.InsertObject() to accept parameters (string, boolean, int) and perform the necessary insertion within the method.

Thanks,
    a keen learner
    Saturday, May 31, 2008 7:15 PM

All replies

• Hello Keen,