none
Cannot implicitly convert type 'System.Linq.IQueryable<string>' RRS feed

• Question

•  

I am quite new to LINQ and am trying to have what I guess are extensions to allow multiple modifications to the query before it is sent. I jumbled a bunch of samples together to fit with my data but am running into problems and not sure if im going about this the right way.

My two main problems are

1) The resulting query is returning just one table although I can access the relations such as db.Products.Category.CategoryName due to the relations set in the designer (perhaps I need a join, but in either case its not working because of problem #2)

2) The resulting query is returning the every field in the products table, I cannot seem to do p.ProductID, p.ProductName, etc without generating errors.

// This is working but I cannot do do p.ProductID, p.ProductName, etc

DataClassesDataContext db = new DataClassesDataContext(); var products = from p in db.products select p; products = GetProductFilters(products, db); // Im passing in the db context because im stupid and need to access another table GridView1.DataSource = events; GridView1.DataBind();

//When trying this the GetProductFilters fails with error
    //cannot convert from 'System.Linq.IQueryable<AnonymousType#1>' to 'System.Linq.IQueryable<Product>'

var
    products = from p in db.products select new { p.ProductID, p.ProductName };

I have tried changing "var products =" to "IQueryable<Product> ="..  Im sure this is a simple problem but im stuck

// Here is the method that does the filters
    private IQueryable<Product> GetProductFilters(IQueryable<Product> ProductsQuery, DataClassesDataContext db) { if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(_SearchTerm)) // _SearchTerm is local class var { ProductsQuery = ProductsQuery.Where(p => p.ProductDescription.Contains(_SearchTerm)); }

return ProductsQuery;
    }

I suspect the answer is glaringly simple but im new to LINQ so please help!