none
Floor Plane Detection RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I'm relatively new to C# and the Kinect for Windows SDK, so I've got a few relatively basic questions to ask after doing a bit of coding, bit of research and a bit of reading. For starters, I do not use my Kinect with an Xbox 360, but I've been told that when the Kinect is connected to an Xbox 360 it looks down and scans for the floor, is this correct?

If so, I'm wondering if there is an inbuilt function to call for the Kinect to scan for the floor (I'm assuming that this wouldn't require skeletal tracking or anything, and would be able to determine it simply from say, the depth data).

I used OpenNI for a very brief period of time before trying out the Windows Kinect SDK, and found something similar to what I was trying to achieve here; https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/openni-dev/a9WZDvZtjkk - It'd obviously be nice if such a function existed in this SDK (and awfully convenient for me!)

If such a function doesn't exist, I know how to manually position the kinect and could obviously use such code to move to the correct position, but I'm honestly not too cluey as to how I would figure out what part of my image is the floor, and what part is not the floor. So my question would be, how would I go about using my Kinect to determine where the floor is. Potentially this may involve a full sweep, up and down the room and then moving to the position which best represents the floor (or a decent viewspace relative to the floor) within its range.

Thanks!

- Nic

• Edited by ni28 Monday, January 9, 2012 6:15 PM
    Monday, January 9, 2012 6:14 PM

Answers